The Theory of Big eyes, like in Anime.. (old post)

I remember visiting the Scottish portrait gallery with a few other actors and artists. On that day, I had a pretty educational tour around the whole building (almost all of it)- I was dragged by my mum, who knew all these artists/actors from a drama workshop and I must admit, it was interesting. Our guide was a woman who was in charge of the drama workshop, she invited all the actors training to become professionals from her class too.

As you would already suspect, they were able to express their feelings for paintings or photography very easily, their minds were at ease- And I, who was excited about the whole thing was unable to take out any valuable statements or opinions. I was Blabbering nonsense. It was not so bad though, I was the youngest one.I was there on that day to learn and I was absorbing every single word our guide was uttering.

We discussed paintings and details of photography. We made sure to tell which Portrait intimidated us or attracted our attention. It was a pretty awesome experience on my account.

The Scottish portrait Gallery had been closed for a while, it just re-open a few months ago. I went to have my first working shift over there as a waitress. No easy task really. I kept stopping to admire paintings, I remember that the Glasses I was holding were quite heavy, causing me to break some when getting rid of them in the kitchen (I was giving such a good impression until this happened)

Putting this working catastrophe behind and moving on with the “intelligent” tour we were offered- I particularly enjoyed the detailed information that our host would give us about portrait sculpture and phrenology [Click here for the definition of Phrenology!]

She explained what was phrenology and then explained why some sculptures in the Gallery’s Library looked so realistic. I was amazed by how this “Phrenology” thing worked, How could someone determine your personality by observing bumps from your head or face?- Why would size of our eye socket matter? Then she mentioned Anime and the traditional idea of drawing big eyes and a petite body; making a girl look more attractive. She said that nowadays people could be manipulating us, we might not decide for ourselves what is beautiful and what is not.

(It was a great experience to hear about all this, as this year I have to create and sculpt as well as design characters for an animation. Now that I am aware of the characteristics related to our facial features, I feel more confident about sculpting faces and bodies.) But of course, the question which showed up from then on was: Why are big eyes such a sexy thing anyway?– At that time our Host was paying much attention to me and it was because my mum had mention how much of an otaku I was.

So, the woman kept explaining to me that Big eyes tend to give a lot of emotions, Men apparently like big eyes. Pupil dilation. ( Well, how could I explain this to you?)- The conversation we were having linked to Horror movies; Men tend to be fond of Horror movies. One of the curious facts said that the pupil of the eye expands as much as 45 percent when a person looks at something pleasing (what the woman said did make sense at the time)

“Death, Sex and Fear- That is  why men like Horror movies” she said.

Why are dilated pupils so attractive? (Still linked to big Anime eyes). Apparently, when having an orgasm our eyes give the same expression as when we are nearly about to die, and the pupils are dilated in both situations. Anime eyes gives you that constant look/feel… As time passed, we moved on and we saw old traditional detailed portraits. Some of them are my favorites. So, I had forgotten about some information about phrenology and big eyes by that time.

It was a thought-provoking expedition. Nourishing day for the Artistic thirsty mind.

Leave a Reply

