High School Paints…

Now that I think about it, I feel like High school involved quite a lot of “Paint”- I prefer using acrylics and I tend to find sketching and drawing easier than using paint. My feelings about “Painting” did not really matter at the time, because the project involved quite a lot of painting anyway, I found myself painting almost everyday of the week in this art class. Painting was not my forte but I was grateful about being exposed to it rather early ( I’m still grateful). I must say I got useful self-taught tips and loved sharing it with classmates who were amazed by my skills (If you ask me, my skills weren’t that great) but my friends would always admit that they were jealous.

Most of my high school projects involved portraiture, I always had an interest in facial expressions and different facial features ( I guess that would be the reason why I tend to spend ages when creating a character in games: Guild wars, Tera, Borderlands etc.) I know that I drew and painted my mom and my dad as well as my Nan, I also painted and drew my cat a lot at the time. It was a difficult period of my life and having my kitten at the time to cheer me on was a great plus (And I am sure that my cat will feature in many other posts on this Blog soon, he is the sun in this house.)

IMG_0948

The advantages of my art classes in High school was having the possibility to use different drawing materials; paint, charcoal, colored pencils, pens, collage… etc. The teachers also made sure that you were always aware of the standard for all the assignments, which sorta did help. They make you try different things too, such as Still life, landscape and help you focus on the one you are good at.

At the time, I used to love making biographical comics too (which I might post later on here)- and portraiture was my thing so I never tried working on landscapes too much and I have to admit that this is my weak point. But, it is never too late to persevere!

🙂 I have to mention and say thanks to everyone who follows this blog! I hope that you have fun reading and seeing my artwork, and I also hope that you might find some of my tips useful! – See you in the next one!

Leave a Reply

